Issue date
23 Oct 2015

Date: Thursday, 22 October 2015
Embargo: 00:01hrs Friday, 23 October 2015

Government list of minimum wage offenders is only tip of the iceberg, says TUC

The government today (Friday) published a list of 115 employers who have failed to pay 1,700 workers the National Minimum Wage.

The TUC estimates that at least 250,000 workers were being denied their legal pay, and that only a quarter of offenders are being caught.

Commenting on the list’s publication, TUC general secretary Frances O’Grady said:

“It’s good to see that the government is naming and shaming more companies who pay their employees less than the minimum wage. However, today’s list of offenders is only the tip of the iceberg. Many more employers are getting away with illegal underpayment.

“I am particularly saddened to see Monsoon Accessorize acting in breach of the law. A large firm with thousands of employees has no excuse for not having proper systems in place to ensure staff get their legal wages.

“The government must continue to increase enforcement of the minimum wage, and ensure that all workers get what they are owed. Bosses who try to duck the minimum wage should have nowhere to hide.

“For employees the message is clear: strong unions in every workplace are necessary to stop these abuses.”

Notes to Editors:
- The TUC’s study estimating workers paid less than the minimum wage can be found here: http://bit.ly/1NpA7S9
- All TUC press releases can be found at www.tuc.org.uk

- Follow the TUC on Twitter: @The_TUC and follow the TUC press team @tucnews

Contacts:
Media office: T: 0207 467 1248  E: media@tuc.org.uk
Alex Rossiter  T: 020 7467 1285  M: 07887 572130  E: arossiter@tuc.org.uk
Tim Nichols  T: 020 7467 1388  M: 07808 761844  E: tnichols@tuc.org.uk
Michael Pidgeon  T: 020 7467 1372  M: 07717 531150  E: mpidgeon@tuc.org.uk
Elly Gibson (Mon to Wed)  T: 020 7467 1337  M: 07900 910624  E: egibson@tuc.org.uk
Kay Atwal (Thu and Fri)  T: 020 7467 1385  M: 07941 547469  E: katwal@tuc.org.uk