Issue date
05 Dec 2003

SERTUC banner

The Southern and Eastern Regional Council of the Trades Union Congress represents TUC affiliated trade unions in London, the South East and the East of England.

Trade unions nominate delegates to the Regional Council, which meets quarterly to discuss both how to achieve policy determined at the annual Trades Union Congress, and to make specific policies on regional issues.

SERTUC has a number of sub-groups (to which unions and county associations of trades councils send delegates) that advise the Regional Council. Each sub-group determines its own agenda and activities. Sub-groups are:

  • Construction Campaign Task Group
  • Creative and Leisure Industries Committee
  • Disabled Workers' Network
  • International Affairs Committee
  • Lesbian, Gay, Bi-sexual and Transgender Network
  • Pensioners Network
  • Public Services Committee
  • Race Relations Committee
  • Transport Industries Network
  • Women's Rights Committee
  • Young Workers' Network

Every union is entitled to nominate delegates (the exact number relates to the union's size) to these sub-groups.

These sub-groups are either equality or industry based and are a great opportunity for trade union officials and lay members to involve themselves in both policy and leadership positions within the TUC.

SERTUC Sub Group Officers

Contact the SERTUC office - if there are vacancies we will send you a nomination form for completion by your regional officer.

 

Sub Groups Meeting Calendar  

August 2017

Saturday 12 August 2017, Young Workers' Network 

Tuesday 22 August 2017, Women's Rights Committee Annual Walking Tour in association with Go London Tours

September 2017

Monday 4 September 2017, Construction Campaign Task Group  

Tuesday 5 September 2017, Disabled Workers' Network

Wednesday 6 September 2017, Race Relations Committee

Thursday 7 September 2017, Transport Industries Network 

Tuesday 12 September 2017, Pensioners' Network  

Monday 18 September 2017, Public Service Committee support People vs PFI Exhibition (closes Wednesday 27 September 2017)

Tuesday 19 September 2017, Creative and Leisure Industries Committee

Tuesday 19 September 2017, Women's Rights Committee  

Thursday 21 September 2017, ​International Affairs Committee ​ 

Tuesday 26 September 2017, Public Services Committee 

October 2017

Monday 2 October 2017, SERTUC Race Relations Committee: A Tribute to Jayaben Desai

Saturday 21 October 2017, Young Workers' Network 

Monday 23 October  2017, LGBT Network 

November 2017

Tuesday 7 November 2017, Pensioners' Network Working Party 

Tuesday 14 November 2017, Women's Rights Committee Celebratory Open Meeting  

Tuesday 28 November 2017, Disabled Workers' Network

December 2017

Monday 4 December 2017, Construction Campaign Task Group 

Tuesday 5 December 2017, Creative and Leisure Industries Committee

Tuesday 5 December 2017, Pensioners' Network  

Tuesday 5 December 2017, Public Services Committee 

Wednesday 6 December 2017, Race Relations Committee

Thursday 7 December 2017​, International Affairs Committee  

Thursday 7 December 2017, Transport Industries Network 

January 2018

Tuesday 16 January 2018, Women's Rights Committee 

Saturday 20 January 2018, Young Workers' Network

February 2018

Monday 5 February 2018, LGBT Network 

Tuesday 6 February 2018, Pensioners' Network Working Party      

March 2018

Monday 5 March 2018, Construction Campaign Task Group 

Tuesday 6 March 2018, Disabled Workers' Network 

Wednesday 7 March 2018, Race Relations Committee

Thursday 8 March 2018, Women's Rights Committee International Women's Day Celebration  

Tuesday 13 March 2018, Creative and Leisure Industries Committee

Tuesday 13 March 2018, Pensioners' Network  

Thursday 22 March 2018​, International Affairs Committee ​ 

Tuesday 27 March 2018, Public Services Committee 

April 2018

Saturday 28 April 2018, Young Workers' Network AGM

May 2018

Monday  14 May 2018, LGBT Network AGM                

Tuesday 15 May 2018, Pensioners' Network Working Party  

Tuesday 15 May 2018, Women's Rights Committee AGM

June 2018

Monday 4 June 2018, Construction Campaign Task Group AGM  

Tuesday 5 June 2018, Disabled Workers' Network AGM

Thursday 7 June 2018​, International Affairs Committee ​AGM

Tuesday 19 June 2018, Pensioners' Network AGM